Currently fifteen U.S. states mandate some form of infertility insurance coverage. Coverage varies by state, with some having more requirements and limitations than others. It’s important for you to know what your state requires, if you’re fortunate enough to be in one of those states.

Examples of limitations include:

  • Coverage does not include the use donor sperm or eggs
  • Coverage only includes certain types of infertility treatments
  • Coverage can dictate who performs the treatment and where it’s performed
  • Coverage includes limits on how many IVF cycles will be covered
  • Coverage may have age cut-offs
  • Coverage may be capped at a certain amount

Many states also have a “definition of infertility” that you must meet in order to have coverage.

Religious organizations, self-insured plans and small businesses with few employees, as well as HMOs, are often exempt from having to cover these infertility treatments.

The following states below have infertility insurance laws:

  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Montana
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Rhode Island
  • Texas
  • West Virginia

Fear not! If your state is not one of the lucky fifteen, that doesn’t mean you may not have coverage. Many employers in the remaining 35 states still opt to offer infertility health insurance benefits.